Headlines

Monday 20th April, 2020
Friday 13th March, 2020
Monday 24th February, 2020
Saturday 1st February, 2020
Tuesday 21st January, 2020
Friday 22nd November, 2019
Wednesday 23rd October, 2019
Wednesday 9th October, 2019

Ashden Awards Win

Monday 8th November, 2021

On Thursday 4th November at COP26, URBED’s Marianne Heaslip and Carbon Coop’s Jonathan Atkinson were presented with the Ashden Award for green skills by Carlos Quesada, President of Costa Rica. The Ashden Awards reward and promote pioneers across the globe who are taking on the climate crisis and trying to create better and more equal societies.

The award was presented to Carbon Co-op for the training work carried out under what has become People Powered Retrofit; a partnership between URBED and Carbon Coop taking a householder-led approach to domestic energy retrofit. Marianne collected the award in recognition of the integral role URBED have played in the devising and delivering the green skills work, building on a ten-year track record of training work collaboration between ourselves and Carbon Coop.

People Powered Retrofit has now been set up as a separate organisation incorporating staff from both Carbon Coop and URBED. We recently launched a community shares offer to help expand the service to transform more homes through low carbon retrofit and generate green jobs. A key future development will be working with housing associations to scale the reach of the offer, aligning with work URBED has been undertaking via the Social Housing Decarbonisation Fund.

Huge congratulations to everyone involved!

Related projects