Headlines

Thursday 3rd August, 2017
Thursday 27th July, 2017
Monday 24th July, 2017
Tuesday 18th July, 2017
Saturday 15th July, 2017
Wednesday 12th July, 2017
Tuesday 13th June, 2017
Thursday 8th June, 2017
Wednesday 31st May, 2017
Wednesday 24th May, 2017

Decent housing a necessity for a healthy society

Tuesday 4th April, 2017

In Sunday's Guardian letters (2nd April 2017), Nicholas Falk of the URBED Trust responds to an earlier piece on house prices

Your powerful editorial almost says it all in just 14 column inches. But the housing white paper is well worth reading, as it offers a case study of Germany’s system of land pooling. For decades the UK has suffered from not applying lessons from European cities (which Sir Peter Hall set out in Good Cities Better Lives). Before we leave the European Union, all political parties should understand why German cities and others have outperformed ours and created much fairer societies. Only then can we start to compete on equal terms.


Dr Nicholas Falk
Director, The Urbed Trust

Related projects

Newsletter